PCB Libraries Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Libraries > Footprints / Land Patterns > PADS
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Vishay PowerPAK 1212-8 Case Code
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Vishay PowerPAK 1212-8 Case Code

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Louis_Guerin View Drop Down
Active User
Active User
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jan 2013
Location: Quebec
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Louis_Guerin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Vishay PowerPAK 1212-8 Case Code
    Posted: 25 Jun 2015 at 12:19pm
I'm looking to build a PCB decal for PADS Layout base on the one on following doc.:
 
Is there a footprint already done in Library Expert on this one that I can slect from the FPX file?
 
If not, what will be best:
a) Single pad for Drain or
b) Do a 8 pad parts with thermal pad offset so it short pads 5-8?
 
Back to Top
Tom H View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jan 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Status: Offline
Points: 4735
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tom H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2015 at 12:28pm
The Vishay PowerPAK 1212-8 Case Code is on Parts on Demand (POD) for 2 credits.  
 
Stay connected - follow us! Twitter - LinkedIn
Back to Top
Louis_Guerin View Drop Down
Active User
Active User
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jan 2013
Location: Quebec
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Louis_Guerin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2015 at 1:17pm
I guess I can use a couple credits, from ones I got when purchasing PCB Libraries, and take the decal you have.
However I would like to understand why your X and Y dimension are 3.4mm?
It's not max dimension, neither what I could call typical which is between 3.0mm and 3.61mm and give something like 3.35mm.
Is it because dimension is rounded up from 3.35mm to 3.4mm?
Back to Top
Tom H View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jan 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Status: Offline
Points: 4735
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Tom H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2015 at 1:21pm

POD parts use the nominal dimensions because most people want Nominal 3D models and Library Expert exports 3D models.

However, it does not make any difference because everyone uses something different.
 
The user can easily change the values to whatever you want once you own the part.
 
Stay connected - follow us! Twitter - LinkedIn
Back to Top
Louis_Guerin View Drop Down
Active User
Active User
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jan 2013
Location: Quebec
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Louis_Guerin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2015 at 3:11pm
OK, then I assume you rounded up to 3.4mm and use it as nominal dimension.
I'm taking your part, you will then deduce 2 credits from what I have, how do we procced from here?
Back to Top
Tom H View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jan 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Status: Offline
Points: 4735
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tom H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2015 at 3:18pm

Go to - www.pcblibraries.com/pod and search for Vishay PowerPAK 1212-8 Case Code

Log-in and download the part.
 
The FPX file will go to your Downloads folder.
 
Import the FPX file into your master FPX file.
 
Open the part and do all the edits that you want to personalize the footprint.
 
Select the Finish Tab > Done button and select the FPX file Row where the part was opened.
 
Select the Add Comp button in the toolbar to update your FPX file.
 
Select the Build button and out to your CAD tool.
 
 
Stay connected - follow us! Twitter - LinkedIn
Back to Top
Louis_Guerin View Drop Down
Active User
Active User
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jan 2013
Location: Quebec
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Louis_Guerin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2015 at 4:40pm
Hi Tom,
I tried to download as you mention, however POD doesn't start the dowload.
In account I see my user name so I guess I'm logged.
I've selected Vishay in Manufacturer and paste PowerPAK 1212-8 in Case Code windows.
Click on SERCH POD which start a search, and after nothing happen.
I've tried few combination but nothing.
Back to Top
Nick B View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 02 Jan 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 1736
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Nick B Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2015 at 9:38pm
I cannot replicate this issue, using IE11 on a test user account. Let's discuss this offline, we'll figure out where it's going wrong.
 
Nick
 
Stay connected - follow us! Twitter - LinkedIn
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.