PCB Libraries Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > PCB Footprint Expert > Questions & Answers
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Pin 1 Inside Courtyard?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Pin 1 Inside Courtyard?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
AGONZ67 View Drop Down
Advanced User
Advanced User
Avatar

Joined: 30 Mar 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 117
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AGONZ67 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Pin 1 Inside Courtyard?
    Posted: 27 May 2014 at 4:36pm

Is there a reason why these silkscreen dots are outside the courtyard?

If they were moved just slightly to be near the long-side of the pin they could be inside the courtyard eliminating any chance of overlapping another part or feature.

Back to Top
Tom H View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jan 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Status: Offline
Points: 5239
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tom H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 May 2014 at 5:04pm

For PADS Layout the Pin 1 Dots are Attributes and can be freely moved in the PCB layout.

What CAD tool do you use?


Stay connected - follow us! Twitter - LinkedIn
Back to Top
AGONZ67 View Drop Down
Advanced User
Advanced User
Avatar

Joined: 30 Mar 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 117
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AGONZ67 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 May 2014 at 8:44am
Mainly PADS/Expedition. I was just thinking if it was already inside the courtyard, you would never have to touch it again.
Back to Top
Tom H View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jan 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Status: Offline
Points: 5239
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tom H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 May 2014 at 10:15am

But there is always a Silkscreen Line the full length of Pin 1 to denote Pin 1 location polarity.

The dot was added because of high customer demand and it's in addition to the silkscreen line by Pin 1.

Would you like a new feature that removes the line and replaces it with a Dot?

Or do you want both the Pin 1 Dot and the Line?


Stay connected - follow us! Twitter - LinkedIn
Back to Top
Matthew Lamkin View Drop Down
Advanced User
Advanced User


Joined: 02 Oct 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 284
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Matthew Lamkin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jun 2014 at 3:58am
I'd like to remove the dot full stop Wink

If it is outside the courtyard it can cover the pads of another component, obviously this is unwanted.

The component should be "as is" when placed, we should not have to move the pin 1 marker, so containing the marker within the courtyard outline is best.

So a feature that removes the dot and leaves only the line would be preferred over one that removes the line and leaves a dot.
Back to Top
Tom H View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jan 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Status: Offline
Points: 5239
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Tom H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jun 2014 at 6:34am

You can turn off any drafting item by changing the line width or size to 0 (zero) in User Preferences.


Stay connected - follow us! Twitter - LinkedIn
Back to Top
Tom H View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jan 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Status: Offline
Points: 5239
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Tom H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jun 2014 at 7:08am
I forgot to ask about a possible new feature for Silkscreen Outlines.

Would you like the ability to have 3 different Silkscreen Outline options?

  1. Inside the pads (just like LP Wizard with a Pin 1 Dot inside the courtyard)
  2. Outside the pads (just like FP Designer with a chamfer Pin 1 marker)
  3. Hatched (this is the current default with a Pin 1 Line)

This question will be on our next Poll so we can see if there is a demand for this new feature.


Stay connected - follow us! Twitter - LinkedIn
Back to Top
Matthew Lamkin View Drop Down
Advanced User
Advanced User


Joined: 02 Oct 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 284
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Matthew Lamkin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jun 2014 at 7:35am
That would be good.

Ideally I'd prefer the silkscreen outline to be outside the pads and inside the placement outline.
To do away with additional lines (like dots) and have a simple mitre on chips to denote pin 1.

That keeps a simple continuous outline.
So option 2 I think.

Cheers Tom.
Back to Top
Tom H View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jan 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Status: Offline
Points: 5239
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tom H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jun 2014 at 7:43am

If you choose to have the silkscreen Outside the pads and wrapped all the way around the part you could potentially remove the placement courtyard and use the silkscreen outline instead.

But if you want both outlines, the courtyard will automatically adjust itself to be greater or equal to the silkscreen outline. The courtyard will never be "inside" the silkscreen outline.

Stay connected - follow us! Twitter - LinkedIn
Back to Top
Matthew Lamkin View Drop Down
Advanced User
Advanced User


Joined: 02 Oct 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 284
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Matthew Lamkin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jun 2014 at 7:45am
In CADSTAR the silkscreen outline is not shown in the external router so it needs the placement outline, if they are in the same place they cancel each other out when moving so its best slightly inside.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.