PCB Libraries Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Libraries > Footprints / Land Patterns > Altium
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Pin 1 dot and placement in Altium
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Pin 1 dot and placement in Altium

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
jnbrown View Drop Down
Active User
Active User


Joined: 13 Jan 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 40
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jnbrown Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Pin 1 dot and placement in Altium
    Posted: 05 Jun 2020 at 9:36am
I have noticed in Altium that the pin 1 dot on the overlay layer causes the Altium bounding box of the part to be extended which prevents placement of components on that side of the IC when using a horizontal clearance rule.
So I end up having to disable the rule using the R key shortcut when placing these parts. I was wondering if there is any way around this.

Thanks
Back to Top
Tom H View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jan 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Status: Offline
Points: 5240
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tom H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 2020 at 10:41am
Are you referring to the "Automatic" Pin 1 set in Preferences? Let us know so we can fix it. 

Or are you referring to the manual insertion of Pin 1 polarity marker? 

We prefer the manual method because that data is saved to the FPX file and you can easily control the polarity size (small or large depending on the package size), the location and the symbol shape. 

Also, in the new V2020, manually inserting polarity markings has advanced features that make it easier to add and edit them. 

Here are the current polarity marking shapes that are available - 



Here is the new V2020 "Insert Shape" dialog menu - 



You see the up/down buttons to the left of the coordinates. They are used to move the polarity marker to your desired location. 

The layers have been expanded to Top and Bottom Legend, Assembly, Solder & Paste Mask. 

You can stay in the menu and add multiple drafting symbols. 

The automatic Pin 1 dot feature will by in V2020, but most people will use the manual option. 

Stay connected - follow us! Twitter - LinkedIn
Back to Top
jnbrown View Drop Down
Active User
Active User


Joined: 13 Jan 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 40
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jnbrown Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 2020 at 11:32am
Tom,

I believe it is the automatic method.
I will try using the manual method.
However, I think any pin 1 indicator placed outside the part will push out the bounding box in Altium which causes the problem. I guess one solution is to use a pin 1 indicator that is not outside the footprint.
Back to Top
Tom H View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jan 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Status: Offline
Points: 5240
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tom H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 2020 at 11:48am
Here is a short video that explains the manual method. 

This is preferred by professional PCB designers as they have 100% control of the size, shape, location and layer. 

The automatic method is not flexible. 

Stay connected - follow us! Twitter - LinkedIn
Back to Top
jnbrown View Drop Down
Active User
Active User


Joined: 13 Jan 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 40
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jnbrown Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 2020 at 11:52am
Great!
Thank you
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.109 seconds.