PCB Libraries Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > PCB Footprint Expert > Questions & Answers
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - In OrCAD PCB .DRA, Missing Pad Stacks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

In OrCAD PCB .DRA, Missing Pad Stacks

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
simpsond View Drop Down
New User
New User
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote simpsond Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: In OrCAD PCB .DRA, Missing Pad Stacks
    Posted: 10 Jun 2021 at 7:58am
Hi,

When recently using Footprint Expert, for some reason, it looks that all padstacks are being created, but they are not  being associated with the final .DRA file.

In other words, after Footprint Expert creates all of the OrCAD PCB files and I copy all of them to the library OrCAD PCB folder I have where all of the other .DRA / .PAD files are located, when I open the created .DRA file, no padstacks are in the design itself.

I have been doing this for several years, but this issue just came up recently.

I noticed that if I uncheck 'OrCAD PCB Designer Basics' in the 'Footprint Expert -> Create Footprint' window, the copper pads then show up the the newly created .DRA file, but any thermal / solder mask data is not there.

What can I do the fix this issue?


Thanks,

Danny
Back to Top
Tom H View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jan 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Status: Offline
Points: 5183
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tom H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2021 at 8:03am
You need to set up Allegro / OrCAD PCB. 

Read these instructions carefully and don't skip any steps - 

Stay connected - follow us! Twitter - LinkedIn
Back to Top
simpsond View Drop Down
New User
New User
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote simpsond Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2021 at 8:26am
Thanks so much Tom for the quick solution; you're spoiling me.

This seems to have taken care of the issue.

I am assuming that somehow during one of the recent updates to OrCAD PCB, these prior settings were lost / overwritten.
Back to Top
Ralph_H View Drop Down
New User
New User


Joined: 04 Jun 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ralph_H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 2022 at 5:29pm
Hi,

The link of Allegro-OrCAD_PCB_Import_Instructions_2021-06-10_08-03-35.zip is invalid.

What can I do the fix this issue?

Thanks
Back to Top
Tom H View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jan 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Status: Offline
Points: 5183
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tom H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 2022 at 6:50pm
I'll put it here until we can get the link to work. 

Stay connected - follow us! Twitter - LinkedIn
Back to Top
Ralph_H View Drop Down
New User
New User


Joined: 04 Jun 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ralph_H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 2022 at 8:12pm
Thank you so much!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.