PCB Libraries Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > PCB Library Expert > Questions & Answers
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Third Placement Outline
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Third Placement Outline

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
jmeinert View Drop Down
Beta Tester
Beta Tester


Joined: 27 Jun 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 62
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jmeinert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Third Placement Outline
    Posted: 10 May 2019 at 11:32am
I am getting three placement outlines on chips with Mentor Graphics. I get the normal courtyard and component outlines, with an additional circle in the middle of the part with placement outline and height.
 
version 2019.2
Back to Top
Tom H View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jan 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Status: Offline
Points: 4128
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tom H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2019 at 12:23pm
These are the outlines that Library Expert produces and you have control in Preferences > Drafting to turn them on/off with either check boxes or by turning the line width value to 0.00. 
  1. Legend (silkscreen, trimmed around pins)
  2. Assembly (closed polygon)
  3. Component (using nominal dimensions)
  4. Terminals (where the Terminal Metal touches the pad)
  5. Courtyard
All of these go to different layers and are used for different applications. 

Only the Legend is printed on the PCB. 

The Assembly is used for a drawing. 

The Courtyard is used for placement aid. 

The Component and Terminal outlines should go on the same layer as they represent the physical package in the nominal material condition. 

Stay connected - follow us! Twitter - LinkedIn
Back to Top
jmeinert View Drop Down
Beta Tester
Beta Tester


Joined: 27 Jun 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 62
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jmeinert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 2019 at 9:08am
My Drafting setting are the same in 2019.02 as 2018.09. It looks as though the circle of the origin is being identified as a placement outline. 
Back to Top
Tom H View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jan 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Status: Offline
Points: 4128
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tom H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 2019 at 9:33am
The Origin Marker and Courtyard are on the same layer because they are both used for placement guides and they don't go out to fabrication and assembly. 

This has been this way for the past 20 years. 

The only way to fix it in V2019.03 is to turn off the origin marker in Preferences > Drafting > Courtyard.

You can manually add an origin marker on the assembly layer, but then they would appear in the assembly drawing. 

Stay connected - follow us! Twitter - LinkedIn
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.